Two politicians have been recognised for their invaluable contribution to the dairy industry, and have been awarded ‘dairy champions’.

The awards were given by dairy organisation Dairy UK at their annual dinner in London.

Dairy UK is a trade association that represents the interests of producer co-ops, milk processors, dairy farmers and bottle milk buyers.

Phil Hogan, European Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, and Simon Hoare MP are this year’s winners of the Dairy UK Award.Commissioner Phil Hogan was honoured with the award in recognition of his commitment to support dairy exports and ensuring the industry is of strategic importance within Europe.

Simon Hoare MP most notably chairs the Dairy All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) and is currently leading an inquiry into skills and labour in the British dairy industry.

Mr Hoare also played an integral role in ensuring the exemption of milk-based drinks from the soft drinks industry levy last year.

Continue Reading…

Back to Latest