More than 400,000 people are poised to lose unemployment benefits this weekend as eight states withdraw early from pandemic-era programs.

Alabama, Idaho, Indiana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, West Virginia and Wyoming are opting out of federal unemployment programs effective Saturday.

They’re among 25 states turning down federal funds ahead of their official expiration on Sept. 6, which will affect about 4 million total recipients.


Back to Latest